8100575757 | info@ncstravels.com

Gepgraphy of Bhutan

     -Political Geography
     -Natural Geography

Political Geography

Bhutan is divided into 20 dzongkhags (districts), and further into 205 gewogs (village blocks). Gewogs are in turn divided into numerous thromdes (municipalities) for administration.

Natural Geography

Bhutan is a land of steep mountains and deep valleys, that is easily divided into three main geographical areas.

The lowlands front its southern border with India; the lesser (or lower) Himalayas cover the central areas, and its northern border with China is dominated by the massive peaks of the Himalayas.

Many mountain peaks in northern Bhutan reach heights of over 7,000 meters. Bhutan's highest point is Kula Kamgri which reaches a height of 24,783 ft. (7,554 m).

Numerous small rivers drain the land, including the Dangme, Mangde, Sankosh and Torsa.

The lowest point of the country is the Drangme Chhu river at 318 ft.(97 m).